Event

Free MOOC: Chinese Thought— Ancient Wisdom meets Modern Science

Join us every Wednesday for a brand new MOOC course from UBC—Chinese Thought: Ancient Wisdom Meets Modern Science Part 1.

Starting on February 15, Parkgate Library will begin showing lectures the UBC MOOC, Chinese Thought:  Ancient Wisdom meets Modern Science – Part 1.  We’ll meet every Wednesday, except for the fourth Wednesday of the month, and the program will run for as long as it takes to complete the lectures (estimated completion time 2 to 3 months). Depending on how well participants receive this MOOC, we will continue with Part 2 when we wrap up with Part 1.

Massive online courses, or MOOCs, are free courses offered by universities and other post-secondary institutions, and open to anyone. Join other community members at the library every Wednesday to view and discuss lectures.  If you are unable to attend the first lecture, or will need to miss lectures, no problem — you can catch up from your own, or from the Library’s computers.  Call us to find out how, and to register, at 604 929 3727, ext. 8166. Or, register online.

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every week every Wednesday 30 times except Wed Feb 22 2017, Wed Mar 22 2017, Wed Apr 26 2017, Wed May 24 2017, Wed Jun 28 2017.
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, March 29, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, July 5, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, August 2, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, August 16, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 -
2:30pm to 4:30pm

Audience: 

  • Teens
  • Adults