Event

Free MOOC: Chinese Thought— Ancient Wisdom meets Modern Science

Join us every Wednesday for a brand new MOOC course from UBC—Chinese Thought: Ancient Wisdom Meets Modern Science Part 1.

Starting on February 15, Parkgate Library will begin showing lectures the UBC MOOC, Chinese Thought:  Ancient Wisdom meets Modern Science – Part 1.  We’ll meet every Wednesday, except for the fourth Wednesday of the month, and the program will run for as long as it takes to complete the lectures (estimated completion time 2 to 3 months). 

Massive online courses, or MOOCs, are free courses offered by universities and other post-secondary institutions, and open to anyone. Join other community members at the library every Wednesday to view and discuss lectures.  If you are unable to attend the first lecture, or will need to miss lectures, no problem — you can catch up from your own, or from the Library’s computers.  Call us to find out how, and to register, at 604 929 3727, ext. 8166. Or, register online.

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Jun 21 2017 except Wed Feb 22 2017, Wed Mar 22 2017, Wed Apr 26 2017, Wed May 24 2017.
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Audience: 

  • Teens
  • Adults