Event

Talking TED Talks

Come out to join us...we’re Talking TED Talks at the Library!

Enjoy viewing and discussing individual TED Talks at Parkgate Library with other community members. Local resident Oliver Hung will be facilitating the sessions.

Check out the schedule:

  • January 8: How Amazon, Apple, Facebook and Google manipulate our emotions, with Scott Galloway
  • January 22: How to seek truth in the era of fake news, with Christiane Amanpour
  • February 26: We should aim for perfection - and stop fearing failure, with Jon Bowers
  • March 12: What a driverless world could look like, with Wanis Kabbaj
  • March 26: There's more to life than being happy, with Emily Esfahani Smith
  • April 9: How we'll earn money in a future without jobs, with Martin Ford
  • April 23: Can we build AI without losing control over it? with Sam Harris
  • May 14: You can grow new brain cells. Here's how, with Sandrine Thuret
  • May 28: How I became an entrepreneur at 66, with Paul Tasner
  • June 11: How trees talk to each other, with Suzanne Simard
  • June 25: The surprisingly charming science of your gut, with Giulia Enders

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every month on January, February, March, April, May, June on the second Monday 6 times except Mon Feb 12 2018. Also includes Mon Jan 22 2018, Mon Feb 26 2018, Mon Mar 26 2018, Mon Apr 23 2018, Mon May 28 2018, Mon Jun 25 2018.
Monday, January 8, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 22, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 9, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, May 28, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, June 11, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 14, 2019 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm

Audience: 

  • Adults