Discussing & Connecting

Join Jane

Drop in to the fireplace area of Lynn Valley Library for informal one-on-one chats with North Vancouver-Seymour MLA Jane Thornthwaite.

No registration required. 

Location: 

Lynn Valley

Time: 

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Audience: 

  • All Ages

Capilano Universe Lecture: The Science Behind Climate Change

Join us for another season of the Capilano Universe Lecture series!

Since the beginning of industrialization and the resulting explosive growth in the human population, human activities have been inadvertently impacting Earth’s climate. It is now estimated that these activities have caused Earth to warm approximately 1°C over pre-industrial levels. Climate scientists predict that if Earth warms another degree, or even another half a degree, there are likely to be dangerous consequences including rising sea levels, decreasing Arctic sea ice, a complete loss of coral reefs and extreme weather. Science allows us to make predictions about the timing and magnitude of such effects, and helps us appreciate the urgency with which we must act to confront further warming.

Sheila Ross has been teaching physical geography at Capilano University for more than 30 years. The courses she teaches are about our natural surroundings and the forces that shape them. She wrote the textbook Weather and Climate: an Introduction, which was published by Oxford University Press and appeared in its second edition in March 2017, and is currently working on writing another book.

No registration required, but seating is limited.  Learn more about the Capilano Universe Lecture Series at www.capilanou.ca/universe

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:45pm

Audience: 

  • Teens
  • Adults

Book Buddies

Does your child need some extra encouragement with their reading? Book Buddies can help!

Book Buddies is a Library program that helps children aged 6-11 who need support and encouragement in maintaining and improving their reading skills. Children are matched with a teen volunteer, and for half an hour each week the Book Buddies read aloud to each other, choose books to take home, and do literacy-based activities, such as word games. This program is a reading mentoring program, it does not teach reading. 

6 sessions of 30 minute timeslots. Registration on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Register at 604-929-3727, ext. 8166.

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue May 14 2019.
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Audience: 

  • Children

MOOC: Justice - An Introduction to Moral and Political Philosophy

Join us to view lectures and discuss this ongoing MOOC (massive open online course) course on Justice. Justice, one of the most famous courses taught at Harvard College, is an introduction to moral and political philosophy, offering an opportunity to discuss contemporary dilemmas and controversies. Using the work of philosophers such as Aristotle, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, John Stuart Mill, and John Rawls, the course will  explore a critical analysis of classical and contemporary theories of justice, including discussion of present-day applications. You’ll learn:

  • the fundamentals of political philosophy
  • an understanding of social justice and criminal justice, and the roles they play in the modern justice system
  • a deeper sense of the philosophy that underlies modern issues such as affirmative action, same sex marriage, and equality
  • the ability to better articulate and evaluate philosophical arguments and ask philosophical questions

No previous MOOC experience required and no need to commit to the whole course! 

Register online or at 604-929-3727, ext. 8166. 

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Jun 19 2019 except Wed Mar 27 2019, Wed Apr 24 2019, Wed May 22 2019.
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Audience: 

  • Adults

Registration: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Discussing & Connecting