Event

Book Buddies

Does your child need some extra encouragement with their reading? Book Buddies can help!

Book Buddies is a Library program that helps children aged 6-11 who need support and encouragement in maintaining and improving their reading skills. Children are matched with a teen volunteer, and for half an hour each week the Book Buddies read aloud to each other, choose books to take home, and do literacy-based activities, such as word games. This program is a reading mentoring program, it does not teach reading. 

6 sessions of 30 minute timeslots. Registration on a first-come, first-serve basis.


TEENS! Are you interested in becoming a Book Buddy?
Email Jessie at hawkesj@nvdpl.ca!

Register in person at the Information Desk or call 604-929-3727, ext. 8166.

 

Location: 

Parkgate

Time: 

Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Dec 10 2019 except Tue Oct 29 2019, Tue Nov 05 2019, Tue Nov 12 2019.
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Audience: 

  • Children