Event

World Affairs Forum

We live in interesting times. Join us for a lively and free-ranging discussion of current world affairs. 

Will the UK finally pull the Brexit emergency brake, or will they go off the cliff clutching Boris Johnson's imaginary parachute? Will the US and China drift into a Trade War, and how will it affect Canada? How long can Venezuela hold on... weeks, days? North Korea promised  what?

Here's what we're chatting about next:

January 3:  Refugees—People from the world's poorest countries apparently have decided they would rather live in the richest countries.  Can you blame them?  But, is this fair?

January 17: Global Warming—Tick, tock, tick, tock.  While we dither the sands of salvation are dwindling down.  Is it already too late?  What can be done?

January 31: China—6 nightmares are rapidly approaching: demography, pollution, water shortage, economic imbalance, trade wars & off-the-chart debt. Any one of them could be fatal.  Yikes.

February 7: Russia & Ukraine—Russia is winning the short-game, grudgingly aware that the long-game is possibly national bankruptcy and subsequent dismemberment. Again.

February 21: Canadian Trade—TTP (Trans-Pacific Partnership), CETA (Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement) & NAFTA/USMCA. What does all this mean?  Have we won the lottery?

 

No registration required. Drop in!

Location: 

Lynn Valley

Time: 

Repeats every month on February, March, April on the first Thursday 4 times. Also includes Thu Jan 17 2019, Thu Jan 31 2019, Thu Feb 21 2019, Thu Mar 21 2019, Thu Apr 18 2019.
Thursday, January 3, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, January 17, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm

Audience: 

  • Adults